Editions of Arcangelo Corelli's Works
Frederich Chrysander, Ed. Concerti grossi, Op. 6
Trio sonatas, Opp. 1-4
Rome: Komarek, 1689 [RISM C 3730] Violin sonatas, Op. 6

Arcangelo Corelli (1653-1713)

See http://corelli.ccarh.org for more detailed information and PDF scores.
Overview of repertory:
Corelli' s principal works consist of six volumes of instrumental works, with twelve works in each print. The first four contain "trio" sonatas (that is, works scores for two violins, cello, and basso continuo); the fifth contains "solo" sonatas (that is, works for violin and basso continuo); the sixth contains concerti grossi.

Method of identification of works:
By opus number and work number, e.g., Op. 1, No. 12. In the case of Corelli, these designations are unambiguous.

Overview of sources used:
The edition made by Friedrich Chrysander and published by Augener has been used for much of the encoding. This has been supplemented with additions and variants from facsimile editions of prints contemporaneous with Corelli, particularly in the case of Opp. 3 and 5.

Reference catalogue:
The recent catalogue of H. J. Marx (Die Überlieferung der Werke Arcangelo Corellis: Catalogue raisonné, [a supplement to Arcangelo Corelli: Historisch-kritische Gesamtausgabe der musikalischen Werke], Cologne: Arno Volk-Verlay-Hans Gerig, 1980) is highly recommended, but its use is not required to understand the identifying information given in these databases.

Work titles/numbers:
The title for all works in Vols. 1-5 is simply the generic "sonata" followed by the opus number and the number of the work within the opus (e.g., Sonata Op. 1, No. 12).

Movement titles/numbers:
For the church sonatas, tempo words (Allegro, Adagio) are normally the only designations given at the start of movements. Not all movements have such designations. In the case of the chamber sonatas, a large vocabulary of dance-movement types (Allemande, Gavotte, Gigue, etc.) is employed. These may additionally have tempo specifications.

A significant number of compound designations (e.g., Allegro-Adagio) occurs in the music of Corelli.